ALBUM REVIEW: Warheads On Foreheads – Megadeth

ALBUM REVIEW: Warheads On Foreheads – Megadeth
Overall Impression
Music Originality
Reader's Rating1 Vote

A band that needs little introduction, MEGADETH are one of heavy metal’s biggest and most successful properties. A member of the Big Four and spear-heading the development of thrash metal, Dave Mustaine‘s endeavours post his departure from METALLICA has spawned 35 years of thrashing mayhem. To celebrate such a milestone comes Warheads on Foreheads, an extensive compilation album celebrating the band’s past 35 years, hand picked by Mustaine himself.

“Thirty five years ago I chose the name Megadeth for my band and I see these songs as the most efficient weapons in the bands arsenal” says frontman Dave Mustaine. “WOF is a U.S. military term for targeting efficiency,” Mustaine continues, “it’s all about using the right tool for the job and these tracks were created for maximum destruction (or stopping power, or something else!)”

What we have here is an expansive collection of material from the band’s career. Everything from their raging debut, 1985’s Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good!, all the way through to their latest album, 2016’s Dystopia, features here and that’s this record’s biggest selling point. For those who may be unfamiliar with MEGADETH, this compilation serves as a perfect gateway into some of the finest heavy metal songs ever written.

Musically, the record does exactly what you’d expect. Across the three disc set, every era of the band’s path is covered to thrashtastically good results. Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good! still brings a whole neck-snapping amount of fun, the shredding solos of Tornado of Souls still sends shivers down the spine and Symphony of Destruction remains to be an utter earworm 27 years after its release. Newer material from the band’s more recent endeavours is also a welcome touch, a reminder of some of the sheer quality the band unleashed. Head Crusher still stands as one of the finest MEGADETH songs released in the modern era of the band whilst a healthy dose of four songs from Dystopia (The Threat Is Real, Poisonous Shadows, Death From Within and the title track) bodes a nice touch, reminding those who may have forgotten about the album to give it a revisit.

Aside from the 35 track listing, which ties in nicely with the whole 35 year celebrations, there is not much of an incentive for those looking for more than a compilation album to dive in here. There’s no inclusion of rare demo material and the fact that a whole host of the tracks on offer here are the remastered versions as opposed to their original recordings maybe somewhat disappointing for those who have followed MEGADETH since the beginning.

Megadeth: Warheads On Foreheads:

CD 1
1. Rattlehead
2. Mechanix
3. Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good!
4. The Conjuring
5. Wake Up Dead
6. Devils Island
7. Good Mourning / Black Friday
8. Set The World Afire
9. In My Darkest Hour
10. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due

CD 2
1. Hangar 18
2. Tornado Of Souls
3. Rust In Peace…Polaris
4. Five Magics
5. Take No Prisoners
6. Skin O’ My Teeth
7. Angry Again
8. Symphony Of Destruction
9. Sweating Bullets
10. A Tout Le Monde
11. Train Of Consequences
12. Reckoning Day

CD 3
1. Trust
2. She-Wolf
3. Wanderlust
4. Dread and the Fugitive Mind
5. Blackmail The Universe
6. Washington Is Next!
7. Head Crusher
8. Public Enemy No. 1
9. Kingmaker
10. The Threat Is Real
11. Poisonous Shadows
12. Death From Within
13. Dystopia

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure
Mish Rush
I am a Web and Graphic designer and an amateur musician ...

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Overall Impression
Music Originality
Final Score